Sunshine Blogger Award

Hello all you wonderful bloggers! I am taking a break from all the reviewing, and participating in the Sunshine Blogger Award tag, for which I was nominated by the lovely Sinead (Thanks!!!). I rarely participate in tags/awards, but I am glad to do this because the nomination came from her.

In case you don’t follow her yet, head over to her blog , and check it out, because she posts some very thoughtful and analytical reviews. She has the best diverse book recommendations ever! She is one of the bloggers I really admire, and I would urge you all to follow her, if you don’t yet.

You can find her here: https://huntressofdiversebooks.wordpress.com/

sunshine-blogger-award

To accept this award, I must:

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo on your post and/or on your blog.

Sinead’s questions with my replies:

1.Which character do you wish you were friends with in real life?

Oh! So many! Hermione Granger for sure. A lot of people who know me in real life have called me Hermione, so I have a feeling we’d get along like a house on fire. Lady Trent, from Marie Brennan’s The Memoirs of Lady Trent series. She has the most amazing adventures ever! And the amazing Amelia Peabody from the series by Elizabeth Peters. My obsession with books featuring lady archaeologists who solve mysteries started with her. And most recently, I have been wishing that Lalli and Sita from Kalpana Swaminathan’s Lalli series were real, because I feel like I could be related to them!

2. If you could be the main character in a book, what kind of genre would you like the book to be?

Without a doubt, a detective novel. In fact to be more specific, I’d like to be the MC in a book about an archaeologist who solves mysteries. I am obsessed with this sub genre! Probably because, I love history and did want to be an archaeologist at some point in my life.

3. Which character’s wardrobe would you like to have?

This is a bit of a toughie, because I really don’t pay attention to fashion at all! I am most unfashionable and will throw on whatever feels comfortable at the time. So I don’t think I want a very extravagant or fancy wardrobe. Everyday practical clothes with the occasional saree thrown in would be perfect for me. I think Sita from the Lalli series has the kind of clothes I’d be comfortable in, and Lalli lends her awesome sarees every now and then.

4. What medium do you prefer for your reading? Paperbacks, e-book readers, PC, hardcovers, etc?

I love books, period. I will read any format, as long as it is readable. Each format has it’s pros and cons. Hardcovers are beautiful, but they tend to be very heavy and paperbacks are cheaper but also more prone to damage. E-book readers are lighter and you can fit a mini library in them, but you don’t get the touch and feel experience. The only kind I haven’t tried are audiobooks, and doubt I will because I’m just not an auditory person.

5. What is one of your bookish-related goals that you would like to accomplish in the next 7 years?

Well, hopefully, I’ll stop being lazy and giving up on my ideas and actually write a book sometime in the next 7 years! Bonus points to me if I actually manage to get it published 🙂

6. What hobbies, other than reading, do you have? I am assuming that one of your hobbies is reading, since I’ve nominated book bloggers.

I love to cook and bake, so that’s one. I also write, and that is something a little more than a hobby but less than a career.

7. What superpower(s) would you like to have?

This is an easy one–definitely the power to read minds! I have studied psychology and I have a natural curiosity about the working of the human mind, so I’d love to get that superpower.

8. What’s behind the name of your blog?

No story there really, I was just looking around wondering what to name it when I saw my little reading desk where I pile up my TBR. And that’s that 🙂 Here’s what it looked like at the time, if you’re wondering:

20108124_1910977655826934_7422154360823645296_n

9. In which bookish universe would you like to live?

This is a bit of a toughie. I would of course, love to have lived during the times that the Hindu epics Ramayana and Mahabharata are set. I cannot deny that I do love Hogwarts and would have managed a lot of mischief there 😉

But most recently, I am fascinated by the world in which Ken Liu’s Dandelion Dynasty series is based. It feels familiar and unfamiliar at the same time, and it could be home for sure 🙂

10. Have you ever thought about writing a book?

Yes! I did actually write a book when I was 10, featuring 2 Bengali girls who were detectives. Bengali, because at the time, all the Indian detectives I knew–Feluda and Byomkesh Bakshi were Bengali! Unfortunately, I lost that manuscript.

I have started and given up on a couple of ideas. Hopefully, I will persevere with the ones in my head now 🙂

11. What is your favourite book?

Never ever ask a bibliophile this question! There are so many–I simply cannot pick. But I will leave a book recommendation here, that I hope everyone reading this will go check out. The Golem and The Jinni by Helene Wecker. It is beautiful, and magical and a read that no one can possibly hate!

Thank you once again, Sinead, for nominating me! I had a lot of fun doing this! 🙂

Bloggy people I nominate:

Books & Strips

Grab the Lapels

A Bookish Human

Cover 2 Cover Mom

WOCReads

A Kernel of Nonsense

BooksnMyself

Worn Corners

The Belgian Reviewer

Teacher of YA

Leaving the 11th spot open to anyone who wants to participate!

I am not sure how many of the people I have nominated have already done this tag. If you already have, then please ignore this.

My questions for those I have nominated:

1. Is there something that you would like to change in a book that you loved? Tell us about it.

2. What are your unusual reading habits?

3. Who are your book boyfriends/girlfriends/partners?

4. Do you remember the first book you ever read? Tell us about it.

5. Which is the best book gift you’ve ever  received?

6. If you could create a mash-up of book universes, which one’s would you choose to mash together?

7. Have you ever written fan-fiction?

8. If you could meet (one of) your favourite author in real life, for one hour, how would you choose to spend that time?

9. Blogging vs Bookstagram vs Booktubing. Which do you enjoy more and why?

10. What are some of the questions that non book-bloggers ask you about reading and blogging that really annoy you?

11. Name five books that you are looking forward to reading.

That’s all from me folks! Looking forward to my nominees answers!

3 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

