Book Review: June

“Two Oaks was stuttering to attention. the mention of those two names together was too much to sleep through. In its excitement, the house ushered forth its crowd of memories, flooding the foyer and the parlors, where Nick and Cassie were discussing Jack and June.”

Now this is a review that’s long overdue! I read this book a while ago and enjoyed it, but somehow never got around to reviewing it. But after all the comparatively heavy reading and reviewing I’ve done, I wanted to review something light and summery, and June hit the spot!

9780553447682

The story is told in two timelines. In the present, Cassie Danvers has inherited her grandmother June’s, crumbling, old mansion, Two Oaks, in St Jude, Ohio. While she is trying to figure out what to do with her life, she hears that, Jake Montgomery, a famous Hollywood actor, has died and left his fortune to her, because he thinks she is his granddaughter. Tate Montgomery, Jack’s daughter, wants Cassie to take a DNA test to determine if this is true. Tate and her assistant Nick, move into Two Oaks as they try to find out if Jack and June really were a couple.

In the past, a Hollywood production starring Jack Montgomery has come to St Jude. June’s friend Lindie helps out on the set, and when Jack meets June, Lindie becomes the messenger and all of them get involved in a cascade of unpredictable events.

The book is what one would call a ‘romantic mystery’, and while I don’t usually enjoy romance, I didn’t mind it so much here because of the mystery balancing it. But definitely, this is a good read for those who read romance too. The insta-love between Jack and June was not something I enjoyed, but I loved how the relationship between Cassie and Nick plays out. Also, my heart broke a bit for Lindie, who has obvious romantic feelings for June. A sub-plot involving Apatha, a black woman who works in Two Oaks, is also pretty sad.

St Jude has a Stars Hollow (of Gilmore Girls) vibe, and it was nice getting this peek into rural America.

The pacing of the book is good and while I wouldn’t call it unputdownable, it kept me interested. It seemed to lag a bit in the middle, but picked up again. There are a lot of twists and turns, more than I expected, which was good for me.

June is a breezy, light summer read and a good break from real life!

FTC disclaimer: I received this book from Blogging for Books for this honest review.

Author Bio: http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/authors/183774/miranda-beverly-whittemore/

3 thoughts on “Book Review: June

  1. I remember several people reviewing this one when it first came out, and I thought it sounded interesting, especially the part about the actor who dies and assumes a young woman is his relative. I thought this book was by the author who just came out with that new popular novel, but I realized I’m thinking of Sweetbitter, not Bittersweet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

