Once Bitten, Twice Shy!

Those of you who follow me on Twitter, will know about the most recent drama in my life –I got shadowbanned by Twitter!

I make a sincere effort to be a good internet user. I do not swear. I intentionally avoid talking politics online (I prefer to do this offline). I am polite. And yet, I got banned.

It all started when I sent a tweet asking for help to reach a 1000 followers, because I was really close. And then of course, because book people are wonderful, I got a slew of new followers. I thought it was only polite to follow them all back. Turns out, Twitter thought I was wrong. It interpreted my following spree as me being a bot and banned me!

So basically, I got banned from Twitter for using Twitter and being nice.ย 

I was eventually unbanned, but the experience has left me shaken, because I have no official confirmation about why I was banned. All of the above is guesswork on my part. I’m scared it will happen again and with enough shadow bans one can get banned permanently.

This is especially scary because I met most of you wonderful people on Twitter and I really don’t want to lose you. Which is why I am taking a few precautions.

Firstly, I’ve created a page for The Reading Desk on Facebook. This is where I’m at:ย https://www.facebook.com/GranthaMaven

I’m really hoping that you guys will follow me on there too! I will be super glad to follow your page back on FB too ๐Ÿ™‚ Just leave me a link below!

I would appreciate if you could spread the word about this as well.

The second change I’m making is in how I will be using Twitter itself. I usually share a lot of your posts on Twitter and flood my TL with links to your blogs everytime I blog hop, which is everyday. Unfortunately, tweeting out too many links could also be a problem, and so I’m making small changes to how I will be sharing your posts from now on.

I will no longer tweet out links to posts, but I will happily and enthusiastically RT the links you guys have tweeted out when I see them. Trust me, I am not happy that I am having to curtail my sharing, because I genuinely enjoy spreading the word about my bloggy friends’ posts! But this is better than getting banned.

In addition to this, once a week, usually on Sundays, I will be creating a blog posts with links to the best blog posts I’ve read that week, and I will share the link to that post on my Twitter. I won’t be able to start doing this for a couple of weeks though, so expect me to start doing this from the second week of August on.

I am not happy about making these compromises. But I really, really don’t want Twitter to turn me into a ghost again! So please ya’ll, bear with me ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you been shadowbanned by Twitter? What do you think of my attempts to manage this situation–have any suggestions for me? Let me know in the comments!

 

29 thoughts on “Once Bitten, Twice Shy!

  1. I am so glad you are rising above this. I just don’t understand social media ways. And be here, and everywhere, as you wish. People, like us, who want to follow you, will somehow find you. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thatโ€™s crazy, Twitter sure works in mysterious ways.. I really like your new idea about compiling the best blog posts youโ€™ve read in a week. I look forward to discovering those! Iโ€™ll look for your FB page tonight! Mineโ€™s The Belgian Reviewer ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry this happened to you Vijayalakshmi. I have no advice for how to do something about this, but I know that I am trying to be more careful now as well. However, I don’t use curse words either but I am political on Twitter.

    I love the idea of doing a blog post compilation. That is what I add on to my monthly Wrap Up. The most interesting or best posts I came across.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s been happening to people since the recent update I think. What’s scary is that Twitter doesn’t acknowledge it so you can’t go to them for help. And there is no clarity, at least to me on what activities actually lead to a ban.

      Like

  4. That’s insane! But I’m glad you were un-banned and excited to follow you on FB! Also excited to see some of your weekly round-ups. Best of luck, and hope you don’t get blocked again. I think you’re doing a really good job at rising above ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for your support Alicia! I’m still not sure exactly what I was banned for so I’m just taking all the precautions I can think of. Like I said, l will find ways to keep sharing the content all my blogger friends create.

    Like

    • Nothing happens. You wouldn’t know at all that you’ve been banned. Except that people I interact with regularly started telling me that they weren’t getting notified on my replies to them. I wouldn’t have known or investigated otherwise.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh wow. This is creepy. I read about a shadowban on Insta, but this is even weirder. I would hate that! Thank you for warning us about this phenomenon!

        Like

  6. This shadowbanning thing that Twitterโ€™s implemented is so ridiculous. There are truly awful people using their website, but theyโ€™re worried about people swearing or following people?? Iโ€™m really sorry it happened to you! If you havenโ€™t already you can turn off your Quality Filter in the app settings and it will show people who have been shadowbanned in your notifications!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for that tip! I’ll check that out ๐Ÿ˜Š
      And yes, being shadowbanned is an absolute pain and I can’t imagine why their algorithm is so ridiculous!

      Like

  7. I’ll bet it was all the sudden following. I like the idea of a post sharing favorite links! Maybe I should do that too…I assume all my blog friends are friends with each other too, so I thought it would be repetitive, but now that I’m paying attention, that’s not true. I stopped sharing most blog posts on Twitter just recently because I realized I don’t write much else, so I was worried I was spamming everyone. Maybe on Twitter we can post bookish comments, but not share as many posts?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

