Book Review: All The Missing Girls

Whenever a book is hailed as the next Gone Girl or the next The Girl On the Train, I’m always a little wary because I thought the former was okay and I didn’t like latter. So when the blurb for All The Missing Girls compared it to The Girl On the Train, I had a set of expectations in my head. The book however blew my expectations to shreds.

all-the-missing-girls-9781501107962_hr

Dark, Broody, Mysterious

Nicollete Farrell thinks she has put her hometown of Cooley Ridge behind her. She is engaged to a hotshot lawyer from one of Philadelphia’s most prestigious families and is looking forward to a life which does not include her past. A mysterious note from her father however, brings her back to Cooley Ridge and her past knocking on her door. Ten years ago, her best friend Corrine’s disappearance cast a shadow of suspicion over her bother Daniel, her boyfriend Tyler and herself. Their alibi for then was Annaleise, and when Annaleise now goes missing in an eerily similar manner, Nic is forced to confront and examine everything she knows.

In a lot of ways this book is just like a lot of recent psychological thrillers. A promising future weighed against a dark past; unreliable characters; and a twisty plot that keeps the pages turning. What sets All The Missing Girls apart is  that a major part of the story is told in reverse. After setting up the scene, Miranda jumps two weeks into the future and then moves back one day at a time, unravelling what happened a little at a time. This is interesting technique and it takes considerable mental effort to keep track of things and connect them. The dark side of small-town life adds to the atmosphere as secrets are unearthed and relationships are put to the test.

For fans of psychological thrillers and mysteries, All the Missing Girls is a fresh, new, must-read.

FTC disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for this honest review.

Author Bio: http://authors.simonandschuster.com/Megan-Miranda/498090305

Other Reviews of this book:

Jessica’s Review at Infinite Jess

Margot’s Review at Lectito

22 thoughts on “Book Review: All The Missing Girls

  1. You’re just flying through your NetGalley Arcs! The last ARC I got from NG was The Star-Touched Queen and I still haven’t read it >.< I'm scared of requesting a new ones until I have reviewed it.

    Glad you enjoyed this one. I haven't read a good psychological thriller in a while!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks so much for linking to my review! I felt the same as you with this one. The Girl on the Train really irked me and i thought Gone Girl was a bit ‘meh’. I ignored that bit of the marketing because it feels like every second thriller is likened to those titles right now. I’m glad I did as i really enjoyed All the Missing Girls! It’s a solid read.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When did you request this book if the two it’s compared to were not for you?

    Also, I feel like American readers might call this book gimmicky because it goes backwards, like a Tarantino film, which everyone wants to emulate. I said something similar on Lectito’s post πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the concept! And I really enjoyed Girl on the Train, more so than Flynn’s stuff. But I’m a bit icky about always reading about missing and murdered girls and women😞 You are so good about reviewing your ARCs!! I had to pause cause of uni, feeling guilty but it’s just not doable atm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I feel guilty if I don’t read and review ARCs by the release date. In your case, it’s understandable as you’re studying, but I can’t make any excuses!
      It is interesting how women are always portrayed as victims in crime fiction.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s a must read? Wow. I didn’t expect that. Recently read another of these “next gone girl” books and it was just such an utter flop for me. I’m glad you enjoyed this though. Sounds right up my alley.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Yay, I’m so glad you liked it! It’s definitely one of my favorite thrillers I’ve read this year. Far exceeded my expectations, too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

